Text Us Now 917.575.9134 Immediate Response from our Legal Team (24 hours/7 Days a Week)

Connecticut Teen Driving Laws

How to Obtain a Learner’s Permit

Teen drivers wishing to apply for a learner’s permit in the state of Connecticut must wait until they reach 16 years of age. Once they have reached the minimum legal age, they must pass a vision test and a 25 question knowledge test. It is also mandatory that the teen driver is accompanied by a parent or legal guardian and have a notarized certificate of parental consent.

How to Obtain a Driver’s License at Age 16-17

In order for a minor (under 18) to apply for a driver’s license they must meet the following requirements:

  • Driving practice must be given by a parent or legal guardian, or a qualified trainer, who must be 20 years or older and has held a driver’s license for 4 years with no suspensions.
  • Complete 40 hours of practice driving (behind-the-wheel) with a commercial or secondary school or by parent instruction.
  • Attend 30 hours of classroom training in a commercial or secondary school. If home trained 22 hours of classroom training is required as well as a 8 hour Safe Driving Practices course at a commercial or secondary school.
  • Parent/legal guardian must attend 2 hour parent training with 16-17 year old permit holder.
  • Must hold the permit for at least 120 or 180 days before testing for a driver license.

Leaner’s Permit Restrictions for 16-17 Year Olds Driver’s

Only a parent, legal guardian or qualified trainer may accompany minor while driving. There is no set curfew for permit holder but must be with a qualified trainer at all times while driving. All passengers riding with the minor, who is driving, must use seatbelts. The minor is also prohibited from using any type of mobile electronic device (including hands-free) while driving.

License Restrictions for 16-17 Year Olds

For the first 6 months after obtaining a driver’s license the minor must drive with parent or legal guardian, or a qualified trainer. Then until their 18th birthday a minor may not drive between the hours of 11PM — 5AM, unless it is for employment, school, religious activities, or medical necessity. All passengers must use seatbelts when riding with the minor. Until the minor is 18 he/she is prohibited from using any type of mobile electronic device (including hands-free).

Mandatory Suspensions for Teen Drivers

Connecticut has mandatory suspensions in place for teen drivers. When ticketed for any of the following traffic infractions their license will be suspended.

  • Use of a cell phone or text messaging: 30 days for first offense and license restoration fee
  • Speeding: 60 days for first offense and license restoration fee
  • Reckless Driving: Six months and license restoration fee (may include imprisonment)
  • Street Racing: Six months and license restoration fee (may include imprisonment)

Contact Ganim Injury Lawyers

If you have any questions or have a case related to teen driving in Connecticut, call Ganim Injury Lawyers for help. You can call us at (203) 445-6542 or email: george@ganiminjurylawyers.com for a free consultation today. We will provide you with the attention and support you need – when you need it most.

No Comments Yet.

Leave a comment